Federal Emergency Management Agency Individual Assistance Programs

Once your county receives an Individual Assistance designation, these FEMA Programs are available to those who are eligible. You are eligible if you are a disaster-impacted individual with expenses not covered by insurance.

Individuals and Households Program

Housing Assistance provides financial and/or direct assistance to eligible disaster survivors who have necessary expenses and serious needs unmet through other resources, such as insurance.

  • Financial Housing Assistance can include Rental Assistance, Lodging Expense Reimbursement, Home Repair Assistance, and Home Replacement Assistance.
  • Direct Housing Assistance can include Manufactured Housing Units, Multi-Family Lease and Repair, and Permanent or Semi-Permanent Housing Construction.

Other Needs Assistance provides financial assistance to individuals and households who have other disaster-related necessary expenses such as medical, childcare, funeral, personal property, and transportation costs. The U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) Disaster Assistance Program provides low-interest, long-term loans to those impacted by a declared disaster.

Crisis Counseling Assistance & Training Program assists in recovery from the effects of a disaster through community based outreach and psycho-educational services.

Disaster Case Management involves creating a Disaster Recovery Plan together with a disaster case manager to reach disaster recovery by meeting unmet needs through available resources.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance provides unemployment benefits and re-employment services to individuals who have become unemployed because of the disaster and who are not eligible for regular State unemployment insurance.

Disaster Legal Services provides legal assistance to low-income individuals who are unable to secure legal services adequate to meet their disaster related needs.


Restrictions: Financial assistance is limited to an annually adjusted amount based on the Department of Labor Consumer Price Index. Applicants whose homes are located in a Special Flood Hazard Area and who receive assistance because of a flood-caused disaster must obtain and maintain flood insurance. Disaster survivors may need to provide documentation to help FEMA evaluate their eligibility, such as proof of occupancy, ownership, income loss, and/or information concerning an applicant’s housing situation prior to the disaster. Assistance is limited to 18 months following the disaster declaration.

Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loans

SBA provides low-interest disaster loans to businesses of all sizes, private non-profit organizations, homeowners, and renters.  SBA disaster loans can be used to repair or replace the following items damaged or destroyed in a declared disaster:  real estate, personal property, machinery and equipment, and inventory and business assets.  For existing SBA clients, you may be eligible for an SBA loan deferment.  https://www.sba.gov/disaster-assistance.

Begin the process, by registering at FEMA:

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at www.disasterassistance.gov, or by mobile device at m.fema.gov or call the toll-free helpline at 800-621-3362.

Upon registration with FEMA, businesses may apply for a disaster loan a number of ways:

  • Submit an online application at https://disasterloan.sba.gov;
  • Download an application from https://www.sba.gov/disaster-assistance and submit to a SBA disaster recovery center or mail to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155;
  • Visit a SBA recovery center for one-on-one assistance; or
  • Visit their local Florida Small Business Development Center.

The State of Florida also provides short term assistance loans to small businesses.  These loans are intended as bridge loans to help carry a small business through to the availability of larger SBA Disaster loans or the receipt of insurance proceeds.  They are available for all sixty-seven counties in Florida http://www.floridadisasterloan.org.

ATLANTA – The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced the opening of three Business Recovery Centers (BRCs) in Duval County, Pinellas County, and St. Johns County on Sept. 18, to help businesses impacted by Hurricane Irma that began on Sept. 4, 2017.

SBA representatives at the Centers can provide information about disaster loans, answer questions and assist businesses in completing the SBA application.  The Centers are located as indicated below and will operate until further notice.

Duval County
Beaver Street Enterprise Center
728 Blanche Street, Bldg. 2
Jacksonville, FL  32204
Opens Monday, Sept. 18 at 9 a.m.
Hours: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m., Monday – Saturday
Closed: Sundays

Pinellas County
The EpiCenter-Pinellas County Economic Development Center
13805 58th Street North
Clearwater, FL  33760
Opens Monday, Sept. 18 at 9 a.m.
Hours: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m., Monday – Saturday
Closed: Sundays

FEMA/SBA Disaster Recovery Center (DRC)
St. Johns County
Wind Mitigation Building
3111 Agricultural Center Drive
St. Augustine, FL  32092
Hours: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m., Monday – Saturday

“The SBA is committed to facilitating economic recovery in this disaster.  We want area businesses to have a resource where they can meet individually with SBA representatives and find out how a low-interest disaster loan can help them recover,” said Frank Skaggs, director of SBA’s Field Operations Center East in Atlanta.

Primary Counties:  Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Lee, Levy, Manatee, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Saint Johns, Saint Lucie, Sarasota, Seminole, Sumter, Suwannee, Union and Volusia; and

for Economic Injury Only
Contiguous FL counties #15303:  Dixie, Hamilton, Lafayette and Madison;
Contiguous GA counties #15303: Camden, Charlton, Clinch, Echols and Ware.

The SBA offers low-interest, long-term disaster loans for physical damage and working capital. To be considered for this assistance, survivors need to apply by the deadline.

Additional information on the disaster loan program may be obtained by calling SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an email to disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.  Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.  Loan applications can be downloaded from www.sba.gov.  Completed applications should be returned to a recovery center or mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

FEMA Teleregistration: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)
SBA Customer Service Center: 1-800-659-2955
Hours:   8 a.m. – 8 p.m. (ET), Monday – Friday
9 a.m. – 5 p.m. (ET), Saturday and Sunday

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is Nov. 9, 2017.  The deadline to return economic injury applications is June 11, 2018.